The Weiss Kreuz was probably built at the beginning of the 14th century as a watchtower. It became a traders'inn in 1519, and still dominates life in Splügen from its central position on top of a rocky promontory in the village's old centre. Guests are received through the ancient traders's entrance, and make their way to the 16 restored rooms via a creaky wooden staircase. Each room has a unique charm. The former hayloft has been converted into the hotel's restaurant, where there are superb views across the stone roofs of the village and of the wonderful mountain scenery.